A recent cricket match sparked a lively debate after former India cricketer Irfan Pathan weighed in on why Akash Deep’s delivery that dismissed Joe Root was not a no-ball, despite claims from some sections of the media.
A Crucial Wicket in a Tense Match
The incident occurred during the second India vs. England Test, where Joe Root was bowled out for just six runs. This dismissal was pivotal, sending England into a tough spot at 50/3 and ultimately contributing to India’s significant 336-run victory, which leveled the series at 1-1.
Following England’s defeat, a controversy began circulating, particularly within English media and on social media, suggesting that Akash Deep’s wicket-taking delivery should have been ruled a back-foot no-ball.
Irfan Pathan Sets the Record Straight
To address the brewing “nontroversy,” former India pacer Irfan Pathan released a breakdown video for Sony Sports Network. He meticulously explained why the delivery was perfectly legal, debunking the no-ball claims.
Pathan clarified that the crucial factor for a back-foot no-ball is the “first contact point” of the bowler’s foot with the pitch. He demonstrated that while Akash Deep’s heel did land outside the crease, his initial contact point – his toes – was well within the legal boundary.
Using slow-motion footage, Pathan showed how images circulating online only captured a later moment of the foot’s landing, rather than the initial contact. “The real story starts a few frames before,” he explained, emphasizing that if the first contact point is inside, the delivery is legal.
Understanding the Back-Foot No-Ball Rule
To fully grasp the debate, it’s helpful to understand the rules. Cricket pitches have specific lines: the popping crease (the white line perpendicular to the pitch) and return creases (shorter lines next to the stumps, parallel to the pitch).
According to the MCC’s Laws of Cricket (Law 21.5), for a delivery to be fair, the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touch the return crease that applies to their bowling action. Additionally, their front foot must land with some part on the same side of an imaginary line through the middle stumps and behind the popping crease.
Pathan’s explanation hinged on this rule, confirming that based on the “first contact” principle, Akash Deep’s delivery was fair and his wicket-taking effort was skillful and legitimate.
- Joe Root was dismissed by Akash Deep for six runs, impacting the second India vs. England Test.
- Claims emerged that the delivery was an illegal back-foot no-ball.
- Former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan clarified that the legality depends on the “first contact point” of the back foot, which was inside the crease.
- Cricket rules (MCC Law 21.5) dictate that the bowler’s back foot must land within the return crease.
This clarification by Pathan helped put to rest the spirited discussion surrounding a key moment in a closely watched Test match.